top of page

LOVE FROM SAKURA

A Short-Story by Harika Kothapally l Monday Blossoms Segment by BETALES l



I grabbed my usual coffee from the cafe across the road and was walking down the pavement to my flower shop, the day was a bit sunny but still, there was a cold breeze now and then giving me a tingling sensation now and then. I stood at my usual spot and looked up to see thinking I would see the boring blue sky, but instead I found it coloured with cherry blossoms. There was a sweet musky scent in the air with its petals flowing around giving a feeling of calmness.

'Almost forgot, it's the end of the march, right?' I thought. My work has been busy lately and I couldn't see the first bloom of cherry blossoms.

While thoughts were disturbed I saw a cherry blossom floating around, I caught it with my free hand and smiled softly looking at it. It's also time for the Jinhae Gunhangje festival, everyone is looking forward to celebrating it with their loved ones and so was I........ a long time ago. These petals remind me of my long-lost soul..... the person I loved the most. My life wasn't the same despair and sorrow two years ago, rather it was filled with happiness and joy with the man I loved by my side.


It was the same Jinhae Gunhangje festival, five years ago..... I was out on the rads of Changwon city with my friends to celebrate, they were busy with the photoshoot while I... just sat there looking at the cherry blossoms floating around.

My grandma used to say, if we catch a falling cherry blossom it will make us meet our true love. Such a weird myth isn't it?. But for some reason I was curious to know, so, I tried to catch one. My luck wasn't with me and every time I tried to catch it slipped. I was so caught up with catching it that I lost the track of road I was going and ended up bumping into someone, making me fall hard on the road.

'Argh, that hurts.' I said with a slight pain in my back and my forehead.

"Are you alright?" I heard a voice and a hand that helped me to stand up.

"I'm fine. Sorry for earlier." I said finally looking at him.... and that was the moment my life took a pause skipping my heartbeat as my cheeks warmed up.

"You should watch while walking." He said with a soft tone.

"Yeah. I'm sorry, I was trying to catch a cherry blossom." I said feeling a little embarrassed and looked down to cover it.

"Careful while doing it next time." He suggested. I nodded my head in agreement still feeling embarrassed to look up and when I finally did, he left already.

I walked around and found my friends instead, well also got an earful from them, they were worried about me, still, they nag so much. We went back to our hometown but I remember his face every time I close my eyes, sometimes it feels like he's the only one I think about.

My normal life got so messed up that sometimes I lost track of time. A whole year has passed and when the next Jinhae Gunhangje Festival came I visited the place I met him again with a silly hope of seeing him.... but I couldn't. I did it for another two years till I graduated from college and I truly was bad luck.

The following year I stayed in my hometown in search of a job and that's when I got an offer letter from one of the companies in Changwon city. My interview went well and I sat at the usual place staring at the cherry blossoms.

'It's been a year since I came.' I said looking at the sky. Seeing the cherry blossoms floating around, I wanted to try my luck again. So, I started doing the stupid thing I can think of, catching the cherry blossom petal. I was running after it when I suddenly bumped into someone... again.

"Why do I bump into people every time I do this?" I whined while rubbing my forehead. "So it's you again." I heard a familiar voice. I looked up and my breath hitched... it's him. The person I was waiting for all this time. He lend me a hand and I stood up still looking at his face.

"Y-you remember me?" My voice stuttered.

"Of course, you won't see people running on the road for cherry blossoms often. I told you to be careful while doing that remember?" He said as a warm smile spread on his lips.

"I'm sorry. I will be careful next time." I apologized.

"So you didn't get lucky this time?" He asked.

"It flew away," I said with a dull tone.

"Things you want in life will always find a way to come back in one way or other." He said while touching my head. I blushed hard, I didn't know I would be like this for someone I met as a glimpse.

"Like this." He said while showing the cherry blossom in his hand.

"It's on my head?" I said taking the petal from his hand. He smiled in reply and asked me for coffee which I gladly accepted.

We both went to the cafe nearby and I was having my coffee when he asked, "So you remember bumping into me.". I choked on my coffee and started coughing.

"I-Um... It's just..." There were no words to answer.

"You alright?" He asked with a slight worry in his tone.

"Yeah, I'm fine. Sorry about that." I said with an embarrassing feeling. I have been waiting for him all this time and all I did was look stupid at the end.

"It's fine. By the way, I'm Li Yong-Saeng."

"Chun Hwa." I introduced myself. His name means Eternal... it's strange.

"Chun Hwa? Like Spring flower?"

"I guess... I don't know." I shrugged my shoulders in reply.

"No wonder you like cherry blossoms it's in your name." He said with a smile.

"It's been 3 years, I wonder how you remember me," I asked with a bit of a low tone.

"I wonder the same, how do you remember the exact years?" He asked looking at me from the corner of his eye. Was he irritated?. I should keep my distance.

".....Forget that I ever asked," I said while looking away.

We had a small talk while having our coffee and it was time to part ways, I was sad but his last words gave me hope.

"It's nice meeting you... again Chun Hwa. Hope I see you soon." He smiled and left the cafe but I stood there looking at him till he disappeared from my sight.

I stayed up that whole night with his voice and imagine filling up my mind. I had this uneasiness for the past 3 years but the moment I saw him that feeling was replaced by peacefulness. I was indeed searching for him all these years but why do I feel heavy in my heart when I think about him?. I got a letter saying I was selected for the job I applied for. It's been 3 months since I joined the company and moved to the city. It was a break and I was exhausted, so I went to the cafeteria to grab some coffee.

'The work's draining me.' I thought while massaging my head when I accidentally bumped into someone while my coffee spilt all over the place. I really should check my eyesight.

"Why do you bump into me every time?" I heard his voice and a soft chuckled followed by. I looked at him with a surprised tone, am I dreaming?. It's him... why is he here?. How?.

"Are you alright?" He asked.

"I'm fine. I'm so sorry I was in a hurry. I promise I will be careful next time." I apologized. "It's fine, come on let me buy you another coffee." He said with the same smile that warmed my heart.

We grabbed the coffee and sat at one of the tables. "Since when did you start working here?" He asked while taking a sip of his coffee.

"3 months. You work here too?" I was rather shocked than surprised. It's been 2 months and I saw him now.

"Why would I be here, if I won't work?" He asked raising an eyebrow with a playful smile. ".... Yeah, sorry," I said while keeping my down and glancing at my watch. Now, I'm seriously in trouble.

"It's nice meeting you Mr Li Yong-Saeng. I.... gotta go or else I will be in trouble," I said as I stood up in a hurry.

"No you won't, finish your coffee first."

"How can you assure that?" I asked with a doubtful face and sat back in my seat. "What is your trouble?" He questioned back.

"The deadlines for our project are coming up and I heard that the CEO is cold-hearted and arrogant when it comes to working. I don't wanna get into trouble with him." I replied. I never met him but the description was enough to get scared.

"Cold-hearted and arrogant?" He said in a small tone.

"Yeah, and my colleague said he always keeps a stern face like this," I said imitating the CEO's stern face.

"You should hurry back then." He said. I guess, he didn't meet the CEO yet. I agreed and left the place.

After an hour I got a message saying the CEO wants the project and progress details. We were doomed, did he find out we were behind our schedule?. I was scared to walk inside, I took my time relaxing and took a deep breath as I walked into his room. My eyes widened in shock when I saw Li Yong-Saeng.

"What are you doing here, it's the CEO's cabin," I said with a quivering tone.

"And so am I." He said in a calm tone with a small smirk.

'What?' I screamed internally. It felt like I got struck by a lightning.

'D-Did I just brag about him in front of him?' I covered my mouth when that thought crossed my mind.

"I'm so sorry sir, I didn't know you were the CEO. I apologize for talking bad about you earlier." I apologized.

"Your apology's accepted Ms Chun Hwa," He said with a smile.

"Thank you so much, sir."

"Call me, Li Yong-Saeng, you know my way before I became your boss." I nodded my head in agreement.

"Why didn't you tell me you were the CEO earlier?" I asked.

"I did."

"Working for a company and owning it are two different things," I said with a frustrated tone. "Well, the company's my dad's so." He shrugged his shoulders but I was still not convinced. I thought I would die of a panic attack. Li Yong-Saeng walked toward me and held his hand out saying, "Hello, Chun Hwa, I'm the CEO of the company you're working for." I shook his hand and left after giving the file.

The project was completed on time with the help of Li Yong-Saeng and the employees' overtime. We both often had lunch together and my dream of seeing every day finally came true. He sure is arrogant with work but... I also saw this joyful side of him. Stern face? I guess those guys exaggerated things. As days passed we became close and I got habituated to him being around. It's been a habit to have dinners and spend our weekends together. It's been a year and a half already and my feelings for him grew stronger to a point that I started being obvious sometimes. It became hard to endure my feelings, so when he invited me to his house for dinner, I prepared myself to tell the truth. But the fear of losing him started to grow alongside too.

All the while we had dinner, I was anxious, figuring out a way to express my feelings without having to lose him. After dinner, we went to the porch and were having small talk when I thought of saying it but his words stopped me again.

"Hwa, you know my dad died when I was 10 and since mum took over dad's company trying her best to run it successfully. But even behind her smiles, there were always tears.... she lost the person she loved most. It felt like a curse she had upon herself all the while, so, I became distant from the relationships and feelings. But the day I saw you those walls I built upon shattered into pieces. Only after I waited those 3 years, did I realize how it felt to love someone. But seeing the same feelings from you was when I felt alive. So, Chun Hwa will you be the love I waited for so long?" He said pulling out a ring from his pocket. There were no words to say how I was feeling at the moment. I was taken back by his confession and tears filled my eyes and happiness filled my heart. I held my hand out asking him to put on the ring for me.

"Is that a yes?" He asked with a smile.

I nodded my head as I hugged him, "I wanted to tell you first." I said with a small quivering tone as I cried.

"It's not too late." He said stroking my hair gently.

"I love you Li Yong-Saeng."

"I love you too, Chun Hwa." He said hugging me tightly.

We started dating since then and it's been 6 months and with the time we spent together our love grew even more.

I was in his office giving the project details when he said, "Let's get married this spring." I dropped the file when I heard.

"W-WHat?" I asked.

"I already gave a ring. So, let's get married." He said in a casual tone. Is he for real?.

"That's not something you say casually." I almost shouted.

"Should I have brought a flower bouquet at least?" He asked with a doubtful tone. Was that the only thing he thought of?. God.

"My life feels like a melodrama." I sighed.

He walked towards me and pulled me closer before he said, "If it's a drama why not give a happy ending?" I blushed hard as I looked away.

"Is that a yes?" He asked caressing my cheek. I nodded my head in agreement as my face turned redder.

I was never this happier, it's always something missing and he filled that gap, my life became complete with him. Every second I spent with him was the most beautiful memory I crafted in my heart and all this happened because of that one cherry blossom. As he suggested we got married in spring after getting both our parents' consent. I guess, grandma was true after all, I met my true love. From then on, we celebrated Jinhae Gunhangje Festival every year together. Walking into the garden of cherry blossoms while holding his hand... I wanted to do it every year till we were grey and old.

It's been 3 years since we were married, we continued our work at his company and spent our days smiling and loving each other.

'The business meeting is taking long.' I thought while sitting on the couch at home as I changed the tv channels getting bored. I thought of making dinner and walked into the kitchen when I got his call.

"Li," I said answering the call.

"Love, had dinner?" He asked with a tired tone.

"No, I'm waiting for you," I replied.

"Its' late."

"I know." I pouted.

"Is my love angry?" He asked chuckling softly at the end.

"A bit. You said we will go and see the cherry blossoms together." I said with puffed cheeks. It's already been mid-April, I wanted to see them together like every year so I waited.

"I know, I was busy. Let's go together tomorrow. Okay?" He said with an affectionate tone. How can I be angry now? he always uses that tone and smiles to change my mood.

"Promise?"

"Promise." He replied. "Happy?" He asked.

"More than ever."

"I'll be home in 10 minutes, let's have dinner together."

"Okay," I said with a smile before ending the call.

I quickly made dinner and started waiting for him. Time passed and it's already been 30 minutes but there was no sign of him. I started getting a little worried. I grabbed my phone to call when I got a call from an unknown number.

"Hello?. Mrs Saeng?......" I couldn't understand the words that followed. All I heard was Li is in hospital. I grabbed my car keys and rushed to the hospital. My body started trembling as I started feeling weird.

"Hwa." I saw Li Yong's mum crying as she came toward me.

"What happened?. Is he... Is he alright?" I asked as my voice quivered.

"He got into an accident while coming back..... and...." She paused...

'Please don't let this happen. Please don't let this happen....' I chanted it as I walked along with her into the room.

"He's fine right?" I asked, holding the hem of my top tightly.

"I'm sorry dear." She said. "The injuries were severe and he lost too much blood that it was late when they got him to the hospital." She continued. I saw Li, lying on the bed with his head covered in bandages and his body as still as a rock. I walked towards him carefully and held his hand.

"Li Yong... Li Yong, please wake up." I begged as tears rushed out. "Please, I can't lose you." I can't accept it, he just can't leave me. But seeing him still was only showing me reality. My knees went weak, I collapsed onto the ground crying hard. "It's not true... it's not true." I said over and over again until my mind went blank and I lost consciousness.

I woke up an hour later and saw my parents. "Mum." I hugged her as I sobbed. Even she didn't have words to console.

It was time to let him go. I sat beside him and held his hand, "You are cold-hearted." I said with a quivering tone. "I love you Li Yong Saeng. I will always." I kissed his forehead for one last time. We held his funeral and when I came back home... it was dark and cold just like my life.

I knew our time was short but didn't know it was too short. I lost my love, my hope to live. It was still hard to believe that I lost him, not for 3 years.... or 2 months, this time I lost him forever. It's been 6 months, I couldn't face reality, every corner of the house reminded me of him I couldn't stay there so I moved out. I opened a flower shop near the park where cherry blossom trees are and started working there. All I have were the memories we shared. Everyone told me, that forgetting everything, moving on, and starting a new life is the best way to honour him.

My question wasn't why? It was how. Forgetting my love was never really an option. For me remembering the time we spent and loving him is the best way to honour him and I will do so.... till the end.

Looking back he and cherry blossoms have similarities. Their lifespan is short but it makes our life beautiful. Cherry blossom leaves traces of dried branches and its sweet scent gives a hope to see it next year. Just like them, he left his love and I hope I see him one day... somewhere. It's already been 2 years and I will wait for him as long as it takes. Everyone gets love from one thing or another....and I got it from Sakura.

52 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page