top of page

Match Made in a Corridor: Part 09

A Story by Haritha Sivakumar


“Here, your cardigan has fallen,” Siddanth said, surprising himself at this detail he hadn't realised he had noticed, as he took the jeans cardigan lying on the floor near her.

“Oh, I didn't realise. Thank you.” Priya thanked him with a smile and placed the cardigan over her handbag.

'Neither did I,’ was the answer Siddanth wanted to confide, but he smiled to all in response, ignoring his conscience.

“Happy Birthday once again,” Kavya chimed, and Siddanth bowed his head in acceptance.

“Thank you once again.  I see you guys have already settled in,” Siddanth smiled, pointing to the Pani-Puri stand, and the women broke into smiles, “Do you guys need any help?”

“Not for now, but you can thank me once again for carrying this to you, all the way from the office to here,” Shefalika replied, showing his portrait with his grandparents that brought a sudden genuine smile to his face.

“Definitely, thank you soo much, this is very considerate of you. I had millions of things to rave about this portrait to my relatives, and I forgot this at the office itself. Thank you,” Siddanth thanked Shefalika, his button eyes twinkling, as they skirted to Priya and mouthed the words Thank You, and to his disbelief, Priya’s cheeks glistened as she blushed under the light, and Siddanth could not believe his eyes. The woman who always had a snarky reply to everything he said and rolled her eyes at him as if he was her enemy was standing before him, blushing-smiling, What was happening to the universe? Siddanth wondered.

“Well, your gratitude will be greatly accepted, if I can get more than just thank you for it,” Shefalika raised a point and Siddanth raised an eyebrow curiously, “ After all, I carried it along with me from the office to my house even through the evening rush and the 30 minutes commute. Then again to your home, before I got my sweaty boyfriend clean up so that he could attend his childhood friend’s birthday party, which was again a twenty five-minutes ride, so if we calculate the entire time I travelled with this photo-frame along with the efforts I put in to make sure you received this in perfect shape. My efforts are worth more than just two words. Don’t you agree people?” Shefalika asked her crowd of friends, who looked between Shefalika and Siddanth in silence.

“What is your proposal?” Siddanth asked with his peevish smile plastered on his face.

“Hmm..”

“Would you like one day of paid holiday?” Siddanth suggested, and Shefalika nodded eagerly.” How about a cabin for yourself?” Shefalika’s smile widened, and she bobbed her head fervently, “Then how about a raise and promotion?!” Siddanth suggested with a lopsided smile. Shefalika bobbed her head vigorously as the words sounded more bliss in her ears as she said, “No way. Really?”

“Ya...No way. Keep that wish safely resting in the warmth of your helping heart,” Siddanth poked his tongue out as Shefalika swatted his bicep.

“I knew nothing good comes from helping you,” Shefalika whined.

“How about  a Strawberry Milkshake?” Siddanth suggested placing his hand on her shoulder. Shefalika contemplated, “ Only if it is along with ice cream and a burger- and a Butterscotch milkshake for Nipun,”

“Deal,” Siddanth said, showing a thumbs-up and Shefalika made the same gesture, and the verbal contract was established in the presence of the Pani-Puri consulate.

“Well I would like to join this deal if it includes Butterscotch Shake, anyway I was also part of this, even if it's just for point percentages,” Priya beamed, and Siddanth gave her a side-eye.

“Never losing a chance for free meals, Chingu?!” Siddanth joked, and Priya stood in bafflement, but her eyes soon bulged in pain and shock as she was slapped hard on the back and felt Kavya falling on her while laughing. Priya stared at her friend, bewildered.

“Haha. That is so true,” Kavya laughed, and everyone looked surprised as they broke into a laugh while Priya elbowed her friend on her rib getting a yelp in response. But before they could discuss further on the matter Mihika Nurugu, Siddanth’s elder sister, excused Siddanth from the group. Though the young doctors and Shefalika spent a few minutes with Mihika, they could not stop raving about Mihika's glowing skin and impeccable fashion that enunciated her taste in life and upbringing. And the women weren’t wrong to guess that Mihika though not a born billionaire, she never stopped living like one. Blessed with a petite, smooth and luscious northern mountain beauty, Mihika lived the best life and made sure she got nothing better than the best.

She was never interested in academics, but only in a life filled with richness and prosperity and aimed for it- if it was by her or from her nuptial relation Mihika had no restrictions. Hence, as she grew up after her graduation, she travelled for six months until she dated a successful real estate agent, Zayn Pathan, a half-Indian-half-French citizen from Batignolles, Paris, and got settled in France after one year of dating, followed by their marriage.

 

In the visage of fulfilling her dream Mihika, six years older than her younger brother was never around him. She tagged with her parents and eventually stayed with them, while Siddanth left behind in Leh lived with his grandparents. Years later, when the entire Nurugu finally started living together in one home, it was already late as Mihika was already in college and Siddanth, a teenager adapting to the new life, had his own troubles. However, though Mihika and Siddanth do not share a strong bond like steel they aren't frail like a dandelion. Like every sibling bonding over the years of growing up, Siddanth and Mihika bonded, sought after, and took time to care for each other, while still maintaining their spaces.

“I can’t believe you caved in for the party man,” Nipun said sipping on a glass of alcohol while raising his eyes at Siddanth.

Siddanth, a teetotaler, stood opposite munching on mini-lamb samosas, “ Tell me about it. It was not in my hand first of all they had everything planned out earlier, and they blackmailed me emotionally to get a nod, and they got it, unfortunately, and boom. Here we are standing,” Siddanth said dramatically, “ If this makes them happy, then I am happy too.”

Nipun smiled.

“ You okay there buddy, you look under the weather,” Siddanth asked with concern, and the men snaked through their concerns at work while Priya walked past them to find herself stopping as she watched Mihika and Zayn across the hall, seated amongst many empty chairs, listening to the music, watching people dance and socialize. Zayn and Mihika shared a word or two and smiled, while at times, they did nothing- they did not hold hands, hug or caress each other. There was no display of any physical intimacy, yet Priya felt the warmth of their love dampen her skin. There was so much warmth in their simple domestic act of being present with each other that, unintentionally, Priya felt herself pull back into those memories from six years back.

   The seats in front of her weren’t empty anymore. They were filled with college kids, and she saw Aadithya sitting beside her, his broad shoulders hunching down. His bespectacled face flushed with disappointment. And slowly, she heard her own voice.

“Ayyo, come on Adhi, I apologized, let the matter slide. Stop being angry. I said I won’t do it again. Smile now, please.” Priya requested, softly tugging at his bicep, trying to make Aadithya face her while students performed for the arts festival in college.

“Priya. I am not angry with you. I can never be angry with you, darling. But I do not trust them. Men of that kind aren’t good to befriended.” Aadithya replied.

“But Aadi, this has nothing to do with them. We went out to celebrate together, the entire class. We went out to celebrate because exams were over and then to the movie. Don't you trust me? It was not just the boys and me who went to the movies. The entire class was there. Can't you let this go this time? Please? And I agree with all the excitement I forgot to inform you, but this isn’t a reason to get worried about, Aadhi. Believe me, I wouldn't do anything from now on without informing you” Priya reasoned for the thousandth time.

"Are you asking me not to worry about you?" Aadithya asked her, his eyes tormented with hurt.

"No. I did not mean that,"

"I love you. You know that I love you right?" Aadithya demanded, hurt grimacing his voice, while he lay on his hands spread before the empty chair in front of him.

"Of course," Priya blushed.

"Do you like their company more than mine?"

"Noooo!"

“Everything related to you is a matter of concern for me. You don not understand how worried I had been when I could not reach you. You don’t understand this world, you are too good and naive to this world. These boys are just here to take advantage of women, they don’t value women. They will slip in between your legs the moment they have the chance. I am just looking out for you. It is my duty to look out for you. You have no idea, how much I worry about you."

"I am sorry, Aadhi!" Priya mumbled, voice heavy with guilt and remorse, as tears waterlined her eyes.

"I am not asking you to have fun. But I am cautioning you from hanging out with them, bad companies, do you get me? Studies are important, not partying," Aadithya whispered, facing Priya and tracing his thumbs on her cheeks, wiping the tears, and held her face between his fingers forcing her to meet his eyes, "And never go without attending my call. Understood?”

“Yes. I understand. I am sorry,” Priya gushed as happiness and satisfaction swelled her heart.

He dropped his fingers and smiled satisfied,“ You do understand that I am only doing this for your own good, isn’t it? I am only looking out for you. Because no one can love you like I do.” He spoke and planted a kiss on her hand, and under the words Priya beamed.

“ You know my girls always tell me that you are being over-protective that you don’t allow me to use my own photo on Whatsapp display or social media profiles-"

“And what do you have to say to them? Do you also feel that I am being overbearing in your life? Do you think of me as a toxic boyfriend?” Aadithya asked as he slipped his fingers away from her, but Priya took them as she answered.

“NO," She cooed, eyes all twinkling with love for him, "I replied they are just thick in their head and are myopic to see your love and care behind your actions. I said they are idiots who cannot differentiate between love and possessiveness, and if my boyfriend is a bit possessive about me for my own good, and if I am okay with it, then all others can go on their ways with their judgements. Because I love my man in all his shape and form and in his every attitude.”

“Good girl,” Aadithya wrapped his arms around and side-hugged Priya, and they sat there for a second like that before he said, “ Let’s try some Thai cuisine this time like the last time, and Priya, let us invite your girl-friends too. Okay?”

“Okay,” Priya smiled, her eyes twinkling in admiration.

A loud dhol sound got Priya out of her memories, and she stared at her surroundings. She was standing in the middle of a party, not as a teenager in love, but as an adult with no love life.

“What the hell was that?” Priya looked quizzical, “ Why did that conversation sound odd to me now? Tch! That was strange.”  With a sinking feeling, Priya wandered toward the chairs in the deepest corners, away from the sharp lights. Lacing through the dim lights, hidden behind the dazzling layers of curtains, she found Siddanth sitting alone, far away from the party jitters.


Copyright of the stories in BETALES and Monday Blossoms belong to TSU PUBLICATIONS and the writers concerned. Hence, we request you readers to help us retain the value and effort we exhibit to make your time worthy, by not infringing any of the contents in any written, audio, or video format, without the prior permissions from the above two parties.

0 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page