top of page

Nobody knows I write

A Short Story by Tyler Wan l MONDAY BLOSSOMS l



“Hey, you two, did you buy any new books from the book fair?” Amshita asks as she pokes Vaibhav on his phone busy, reading some blogs and book reviews.

“No, I wanted to ask you two. If we could go and buy books together on Saturday. My parents will be going out for the weekend and told me we could have a sleepover as well” I said, remembering the conversation I had with my mother today.

“Yes, I even heard this time. They have signed copies of a few books, and limited editions, so I am looking forward to the book fair,” Vaibhav said enthusiastically.

“Then it’s settled, we’ll go on Saturday and then hang out at my place,” I said as I waved bye and went home.

It was past midnight, and I was still scrolling through my phone to read the latest book reviews. I could see many of the “Figments of imagination” by an author who used a pseudo name instead of her real one.

“Hey, did you read ‘Figments of imagination’? I heard that book is getting top ratings compared to the ones published in the past few months.” I heard one of `my friends talking to Vaibhav who was sitting beside me, copying my homework for his next class. I sometimes wonder how this person even is a top student without even doing any homework for the whole year.

“Oh, I still haven’t, but the reviews about it seem great. Maybe I will try to get a hold of its physical copy soon. Did you read it?” Vaibhav asks still busy copying the answers, while I read the book I issued from the library.

“I started reading the book recently, and from the beginning itself, it captivated me. Anyways I will get going now. My friends are calling me. Bye guys.” With that, she went away, making me sigh out loud.

“I don’t even understand what’s so great about the book the reviews and all seem great. But now all I do is see every other person talking about it.” I said, causing Vaibhav to furrow his brows in thought.

“I don’t know myself, but instead of thinking the book is overhyped, why should not we give it a try without letting the hype raise our expectations? We should just decide for ourselves, right?” Vaibhav said, keeping the pen down, waiting for my answer.

“I see where you are coming from. I guess I should decide for myself rather than judge the book based on the hype.”

As Vaibhav sat down in his seat once the teacher arrived, the two of us being good students, started to doodle in our notebooks, and pass chits to talk because the class wasn’t the most important one. I should tell you a bit about me, Vanshita More, studying in high school. I would say there’s not much to my life, with me being an average student, in the typical high school full of merit students, the sporty ones, the queens. I am neither; I blend in just right, but not enough to be considered one of any individual category. And, here goes the bell for the final period.

I packed my books as I waited for the other two friends so that we could go home as soon as possible.

“Amshita, can I borrow your notes? I think I misplaced mine, and I need them for tomorrow’s test.” Vaibhav asks as he rushes to catch up to us.

“Sure, but return them by evening. I will need them to revise it later. This is tiring though. Who needs a test every 2 weeks? I am glad you are not enrolled in our class Vanshita. it’s so hectic.” Amshita whines, making me laugh out loud.

Saturday morning rolled by in a blur, and we were just heading towards the book fair as planned as Amshita and Vaibhav rushed off to buy the books they wanted. I stood near a stall contemplating my choices. I picked two books that caught my eye at first glance, one of them being ‘Figments of imagination’, making me remember the conversation I had with Vaibhav. Giving it a try won’t hurt, will it? With that in mind, I proceeded to the counter to pay for both the books in my hand.

“Hello, could you bill for these two books?” I asked as I handed the books in my hands.

“That will be 500 rupees; also you can pick up the few bookmarks and sign the sheets. Our foundation is taking an initiative to send the signatures and notes by the readers or buyers to show the love for their books.” The counter lady said smiling gently.

After thanking her, I proceeded to sign the sheet and write the notes for both the book authors along with a few more I had previously bought.

It was evening already when we finally decided to go home and rest for the day.

The few weeks after that passed by fast, with all the preparations for exams and upcoming tests, I was busy studying as well, when a mail arrived, confused about the sudden mail addressed to me, I opened it only to let out a gasp, inside laid a letter.

Dear Writer,

With loads of love from readers around the world, we would like to give you this small present from our foundation.

With love,

Sarvbooks foundation

I guess that’s where it all started when my journey made me feel important. Reading the books I bought that day made me realize a lot of things. As I tried to reach out to the author of ‘Figments of imagination’, it made me understand the efforts and the constant struggle, which pays off one way or the other.

‘Figments of imagination’ got adapted into a movie a year later after my talk with the author of the book, leaving a huge imprint on my heart.

And, now years later, when I sit in this hall, hearing the director guide the actors, I could feel what the author told me years ago,

You will often feel discouraged, but do you just give up once you have come such a long way? Do you let your struggles go and make yourself settle for something less than what you dreamed of? I don’t, and I know that when you sit in a life of your dreams, you won’t either. I believe in you and your work, don’t let your talent settle for anything less than it deserves.”

And now that I see my first novel, ‘Nobody Knows I write” has been adapted into a movie, all I could do was thank Vaibhav for his words that day and to the author, whom I still owe today.

Dear Writer,

TO: Author of Figments of imaginations

Thank you very much for believing in me when no one knew about me. I am glad you responded that day and encouraged me to go, despite the hardships on my way. I thank you to date and will continue to do so forever for believing in me when no one knew I wrote.

With deep gratitude and love,

Vanshita More

Author of “Nobody knows I write”


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page